Charlotte County Property Appraiser
Paul L. Polk, CFA


Property Tax Exemptions

House Image

If you are receiving homestead exemption but have moved, you must re-apply on your new residence. If you own vacant property adjoining your homestead parcel, you may wish to combine them for tax roll purposes, so save our homes protection extends to the additional lot(s).

What is a Homestead Exemption?

Homestead Exemption Application can now be made Online.
Homestead Exemption Application can also be made by mail.

Florida's constitution provides for a $25,000 exemption, which is deducted from a property's assessed value if the owner qualifies. Applicants who timely file by March 1, possess title to the real property, and are bona fide Florida residents living in the dwelling and making it their permanent home as of January 1, qualify for the exemption. Properties granted Homestead Exemption also automatically receive the "Save Our Homes", Amendment 10, benefit.

Additional $25,000 Homestead Exemption

All persons receiving the standard homestead exemption who continue to qualify for that exemption automatically qualify to receive the additional homestead exemption. No further application is necessary. The additional $25,000 exemption applies to taxable values greater than $50,000 and up to $75,000, for all tax levies except school district levies.

Save Our Homes

"Save Our Homes" limits any increase in assessed value of properties with the Homestead Exemption to 3%, or the Consumer Price Index change, whichever is less, in the second consecutive year the exemption is received. Exceptions to that limitation include new additions or construction. Another exception occurs when ownership of a homestead property is changed in any way, affecting the homestead. Assessed value then returns to fair market (just) value in the year following the change.

Save Our Homes Portability

Every Florida resident receiving homestead exemption in Florida who gives up that homestead and wishes to transfer a Save Our Home assessment difference from the previous homestead, must re-establish a homestead exemption within two (2) years of January 1 of the year in which the person left the prior homestead. In addition, Form DR501T must be completed and submitted to the property appraiser in the county where the new homestead is located. The deadline due date for this form and new applications is March 1.

Penalty

Any person who knowingly and willfully gives false information for the purpose of claiming homestead exemption is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to one (1) year in prison and/or a $5,000 fine. 196.131, F.S.

Who is eligible for the Homestead Exemption?

Every person who holds legal or equitable title to real property, maintains it as his/her permanent residence, and is a legal resident of Florida as of January 1, of any year, can qualify for the exemption for that year.

How Do I Qualify For Homestead,
Widow's, Widower's, Or Disability Exemption?

You must have legal or equitable title to the property and permanently reside thereon as of January 1. You should bring your deed, or instrument conveying title to the land, when filing for the exemption. Section 196.031(1), F.S., requires that the deed or instrument be recorded in Charlotte County's official records before a homestead exemption may be granted. Section 196.011(1)(b), F.S., requires applicants and their spouses, if any, to provide their social security numbers.

You must be a legal, permanent resident of Florida as of January 1 in order to qualify for a personal exemption.

Suggestions for proof of legal residence:

  1. Voter registration or, if not a United States Citizen or you do not wish to register to vote, a Declaration of Domicile.
  2. Declaration of Domicile filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court. (There is a nominal charge for recording.)
  3. Florida driver's license (a "Valid in Florida Only" license is not acceptable).
  4. Florida vehicle registration for all vehicles.
  5. If property is owned by both husband and wife, Florida residency information should be provided for both.

Additional information necessary to qualify for exemptions:

  1. If not a U.S. citizen, a resident alien, "green" card. (Copy front and back)
  2. If property is held in trust, a copy of the trust agreement or an "Affidavit As To Terms of Trust" as it applies to the homestead property.
  3. If residence is a mobile home, the real property decal number and a copy of the mobile home's registration or title.
  4. Social Security numbers for applicants. If married, you must also provide spouse's social security number.
  5. Your most recent paid tax bill with parcel identification number or recorded deed or recorded contract for deed.

Please direct questions concerning exemptions to this office at records@ccappraiser.com or (941)743-1593.

Senior Exemption with Limited Income (New for 2014)

In accordance with Article VII section 6(d), Florida Constitution and F.S. § 196.075 (2), the Charlotte County Board of County Commissioners have adopted an ordinance to allow an additional homestead exemption up to Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000) to any person who has the legal or equitable title to real estate and maintains, thereon, the permanent residence of the owner and who has attained age 65. Note: This exemption applies only to those taxes levied by Charlotte County.

There is an income limitation that is adjusted annually, on January 1, by the percentage change in the average cost-of-living index in the period January 1 through December 31 of the immediate prior year, compared with the same period for the year prior to that. The index is the average of the monthly consumer-price-index figures for the stated 12-month period, relative to the United States as a whole and issued by the United States Department of Labor. Income limitation.

Applications must be made between January 1st through March 1st.

  1. Homeowners must have a current Homestead Exemption.
  2. At least one owner must be 65 years of age or older as of January 1st of the year filing.
  3. Provide proof of age and proof of total household income for prior year.

Applicants are required to complete DR-501SC, “Adjusted Gross Household Income Sworn Statement and Return”, for initial application and annually.

The sworn statement must be supported by copies of all federal income tax returns for the prior year, wage and earning statements (W-2) forms and any request for an extension of time to file returns, and any other documentation deemed necessary, for each member of the household, and required by the property appraiser.

Supporting documents will not be accepted after June 1.

Widow's/Widower's Exemption - $500

A widow or widower who is a permanent Florida resident may claim this exemption. If the widow or widower remarries, he/she is no longer eligible. If the husband and wife were divorced before death, he/she is not considered a widow/widower. You must include a photocopy of your spouse's death certificate when making application, in addition to the information previously listed. If you wish to file by mail, the instruction sheet and application may be obtained by clicking here.

Disability Exemption - $500

In addition to Florida residency, you must provide one of the following:

  1. Proof of total and permanent disability from one (1) licensed Florida physician, the U.S. Veterans' Administration or the Social Security Administration. (Click here for "Physician's Certification of Total and Permanent Disability" form or "Optometrist's Certification of Total and Permanent Disability" form.)
  2. Proof of legal blindness.

If you wish to file by mail, the instruction sheet and application may be obtained by clicking here.

Veteran's Disability Exemption - $5,000

In addition to Florida residency, you must provide proof of 10% or more war-time disability from Veteran's Administration. This exemption can also pass on to the surviving spouse under certain conditions.

If you wish to file by mail, the instruction sheet and application may be obtained by clicking here.

Disabled Veterans' Property Tax Discount on Homestead Property

If you are age 65, honorably discharged from military service with a permanent service connected disability, and were a resident of Florida upon enlistment, you may qualify for this additional discount.

Total Exemption Of Homestead Property From Ad Valorem Taxation

Section 196.101, F.S., provides that real estate qualifying for the homestead exemption on January 1, owned by quadriplegic, paraplegic, hemiplegic, or other totally and permanently disabled persons, who must use a wheelchair for mobility, or are legally blind and produce certification of that fact from two (2) professionally unrelated licensed Florida physicians (Use "Physician's Certification of Total and Permanent Disability" form or "Optometrist's Certification of Total and Permanent Disability" form ) or the U.S. Veterans Administration, shall be exempt from ad valorem taxation.

Except for quadriplegics, there is also a gross income limitation for this exemption, covering all persons residing upon the homestead, which is adjusted annually. Please contact the Property Appraiser's Office for current amount. Gross income must be provided with the initial application and the limitation must be met each year thereafter for the exemption to remain in effect.

Section 196.081, F.S., provides that real estate qualifying for the homestead exemption on January 1, owned by veterans honorably discharged with a service connected total and permanent disability, shall be exempt from ad valorem taxation. Confirmation of the disability from the U.S. Veterans Administration is required for this exemption. A surviving spouse could enjoy the benefit of this exemption if the veteran was a permanent resident of Florida on January 1 of the year he or she died.

If you wish to file by mail, the instruction sheet and application may be obtained by clicking here.

How to file for A Property Tax Exemption

New applications for all exemptions may be filed by mail or in person, at the Property Appraiser's office between January 1 and March 1, with one exception. Florida law allows new homestead applications, only, to be filed prior to January 1 of the year the exemption is to be effective. The Property Appraiser begins accepting pre-filed homestead applications only, on March 2 of each year for the succeeding year.

To better serve the residents of Charlotte County, Homestead Exemption applications can now be made online by clicking here. We also accept exemption applications by mail. The instruction sheet and application form to file by mail may be obtained by clicking here. If you prefer to apply in person you may do so at:


Charlotte County Administration Center
Third Floor
18500 Murdock Circle
Port Charlotte, FL
South County Annex
410 Taylor Street
Punta Gorda, FL
West Charlotte Annex
6868 San Casa Drive
Englewood, FL

If you have any questions regarding Homestead Exemption applications/filing, please contact us at records@ccappraiser.com or (941) 743-1593.

If you do not reside in Charlotte County, you should contact the office of the County Property Appraiser where you permanently reside for exemption information.

Loss of Homestead

Rental of an entire dwelling which has received a homestead exemption, constitutes abandonment of the dwelling until once again occupied by the owner. Abandonment after January 1st of any year will not affect the homestead exemption for that year. However, if abandonment occurs for a second consecutive year, the homestead exemption will be lost.

Mobile Homes

If you hold title to a mobile home and the land on which it is situated, and the mobile home is permanently affixed to the land, you should make application, in person, to the Property Appraiser to purchase an RP (Real Property) decal, since the mobile home will be assessed as part of the realty. Homestead exemption may be allowed if the mobile home meets those requirements, and you qualify for the exemption. Application for homestead exemption must be made between January 1 and March 1. In the event your mobile home does not qualify for an RP sticker, you are required to purchase an MH (Mobile Home) decal annually from the Tax Collector's office.

Mobile Home Assessed On Tax Roll

Mobile homes without a current license decal properly affixed will be assessed on the Tax Roll as either Real Property or Tangible Personal Property. If the owner of the mobile home also owns the land on which it is located and the mobile home is permanently affixed to the realty, it will be valued as part of the realty. Otherwise, the mobile home will be placed on the Tangible Personal Property Tax Roll. 193.075, F.S.

Other Properties Entitled To Tax Exemption

Property used exclusively or predominately for charitable, religious, educational, governmental, literary or scientific purposes, as defined by Florida Law, may be wholly or partially exempt from ad valorem taxation.

Property used exclusively for exempt purposes is totally exempt from taxation.

Property used predominately for exempt purposes is exempt to the extent of the ratio that such predominant use bears to the non-exempt use.

Application for these exemptions must be filed with the Property Appraiser's office between January 1 and March 1. No exemption may be granted until the applicant is found by the Property Appraiser, or Value Adjustment Board, to be non-profit as defined in Section 196.195, F.S.

Notice of Proposed Property Tax

Differing With The Property Appraiser's Just Value Appraisal

If your opinion of your property's value differs from the Property Appraiser's, by all means please come in and discuss the matter with us. If you have evidence that our appraisal is more than the actual fair market value of your property on the preceding January 1 appraisal date, we will welcome the opportunity to review all pertinent facts. However, please keep in mind that although values are estimated as of January 1, notice of those values is not mailed until mid to late August, almost eight (8) months after the valuation date.

Petition To The Value Adjustment Board

After speaking with us, if you still find a significant difference between our appraisal and what you feel your property's market value is, you may request a hearing before the Value Adjustment Board. A written petition must be filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court, acting as Clerk of the Value Adjustment Board, during the appropriate filing period, usually late August-early September. Petitions may be obtained at this site or from the Property Appraiser.

The Value Adjustment Board's function is to hear evidence concerning whether or not properties called to their attention are appraised at more or less than their just value on the previous January 1. If such is the case, the Board has the authority to change the appraised value. They cannot make a change for any other reason.

The Board also hears appeals of exemption and classified value denial.

But See Us First

The Property Appraiser and staff are at the public's service and will be glad to assist in all matters pertaining to appraisal and exemptions in Charlotte County.

The Property Appraiser's Office is your office. Please feel free at all times to visit and examine our public records.


NavigationBar
Record Search Real Property Tangible Personal Property Important Dates Download
Exemption Tax Roll/Office Statistics Contact Us Other Sites Forms
Footer

Home Dot Send Us Email

Copyright 1997-2014 Charlotte County Property Appraiser. All rights reserved.