What is Tangible
Personal Property?

Charlotte County Seal
Town Center Mall Image

DotWho is Required to File
Dot$25,000 Tangible Personal Property Exemption
DotWhen to File
DotFiling Instructions
DotFiling Electronically
DotFiling Extension
DotSample Return
DotNotice of Proposed Property Tax
DotPetition to Value Adjustment Board
DotPetition Withdrawal
DotLife Expectancy Guidelines
DotEquipment Index Factors
DotPercent Good (Depreciation) Schedule

Tangible personal property is all goods, chattels, and other articles of value.   It includes: machinery, equipment, furniture, fixtures, signs, window air conditioners, supplies, leased, loaned, borrowed, or rented equipment used in a business, mobile home attachments on rented land (carport, screened porch, Florida room, etc.) furniture and appliances in rental properties.

Who Is Required To File

Except for owners of mobile home attachments on rented land, every person, firm, corporation, etc. owning tangible personal property used in a business, commercial venture, or rental property, is required to file an initial return with the Property Appraiser. A return is not required for mobile home attachments.

$25,000 Tangible Personal Property Exemption

Amendment 1, approved on January 29, 2008, allows a $25,000 exemption for tangible personal property. Filing a tangible personal property tax return (DR405) is considered the application for the $25,000 exemption.

Accordingly, a return must be filed by April 1st to receive the exemption.A return filed after the April 1 deadline does not qualify for the exemption.

When To File

All tangible personal property returns must be filed between January 1 and April 1, to avoid penalties and to qualify for an exemption up to $25,000 of value. After the initial timely filed return, no return is required on existing accounts if the value of assets is less than $25,000.

Penalties will be imposed for failing to file, and improper or late filing of the return.

  1. Failure to file: 25%
  2. Filing after due date: 5% per month
  3. Unreported property: 15% of tax attributable to omitted property.

Failure to file a return or to otherwise properly submit the property for taxation does not relieve the taxpayer of any requirement to pay all taxes assessed against the property.

Filing Extension

Section 193.063, Florida Statutes, states, "The property appraiser shall grant an extension for the filing of a tangible personal property tax return for 30 days and may, at her or his discretion, grant an additional extension for the filing of a tangible personal property tax return for up to 15 additional days. A request for extension must be made in time for the property appraiser to consider the request and act on it before the regular due date of the return. However, a property appraiser may not require that a request for extension be made more than 10 days before the due date of the return. A request for extension, at the option of the property appraiser, shall include any or all of the following: the name of the taxable entity, the tax identification number of the taxable entity, and the reason a discretionary extension should be granted".

Accordingly, a 30 day extension will be granted upon a timely written request by the taxpayer. However, to receive the additional 15 days, a 45 day extension, the reason must be stated on the request form.

If today's date is no later than March 26th, complete the 30 day or 45 day extension form and send by fax or mail to the address or fax number on form.

April 1 is the deadline for filing a Tangible Personal Property Tax Return.

Please direct questions concerning tangible personal property to this office at tpp@ccappraiser.com or (941) 743-1476.

Notice of Proposed Property Tax

Differing With The Property Appraiser's Just Value Appraisal

If your opinion of your property's value differs from the Property Appraiser's, by all means please come in and discuss the matter with us. If you have evidence that our appraisal is more than the actual fair market value of your property on the preceding January 1 appraisal date, we will welcome the opportunity to review all pertinent facts. However, please keep in mind that although values are estimated as of January 1, notice of those values is not mailed until mid to late August, almost eight (8) months after the valuation date.

Petition To The Value Adjustment Board

After speaking with us, if you still find a significant difference between our appraisal and what you feel your property's market value is, you may request a hearing before the Value Adjustment Board. A written petition must be filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court, acting as Clerk of the Value Adjustment Board, during the appropriate filing period, usually late August-early September. Petitions may be obtained at this site or from the Property Appraiser.

The Value Adjustment Board's function is to hear evidence concerning whether or not properties called to their attention are appraised at more or less than their just value on the previous January 1. If such is the case, the Board has the authority to change the appraised value. They cannot make a change for any other reason.

The Board also hears appeals of exemption and classified value denial.

But See Us First

The Property Appraiser and staff are at the public's service and will be glad to assist in all matters pertaining to appraisal and exemptions in Charlotte County.

The Property Appraiser's Office is your office. Please feel free at all times to visit and examine our public records.

Record Search Real Property Tangible Personal Property

Important Dates

Download

Exemptions Tax Roll/Office Statistics Meet Frank Desguin Contact Us Other Sites Forms

Home Dot Send Us Email

Copyright 1997-2008 Charlotte County Property Appraiser. All rights reserved.
This page last modified on: August 1, 2003